Calvary Chapel in Budapest

Not everthing is hopeless and depressing…

budapest-fall-2008-083On Sunday I was taken to the center of Budapest where one of the most successful churches in Europe gather. The Calvary Chapel church meets in an old theatre with more than a thousand people attending each Sunday. I took in the main service and was one of five hundred in attendance. There are four weekend services in all and most of those attending were under the age of 35 years.

Sunday morning service at the 1,500 person Budapest Calvary Chapel

Sunday morning service at the 1,500 person Budapest Calvary Chapel

Anita Lazi
Anita Lazi

Ever heard the expression, “It’s a small world.” ? Well, it is. While I was trying to get a couple of these photographs a girl seemed overly excited about me. This never happens in real life so I paid immediate attention and there she was, one of my former Bethany students, Hungarian, Anita Lazi. I’m sure people wondered why I was being hugged by this woman. It was fun to see her again and learn that she goes on with Jesus and ministry.

 Later, following the service, I spoke to Pastor Phil Metzger.

Calvary Chapel Pastor, Phil Metzger
Calvary Chapel Pastor, Phil Metzger

I had email visited with him on previous occasions and surprise to me he remembered our conversations so he (perhaps he felt obligated) asked if I would consider teaching at their Hungarian Bible college. I hope to do it but as it stands now, my schedule is pretty filled up. Lord willing, we’ll make room!

Leave a Reply

