BCOM Sophomores

What a great group of young people. 

The BCOM Sophomore Class 2010

Some are more clear about their call than others and for those, coming to Bethany means a guided call where they can learn, listen and decide the next step for themselves. Some who come with the conviction that missions is their life calling find that it is not and the opposite is true. Perhaps an equal number who show up simply to grow after exposure to cross-cultural ministry make the decision to invest their lives in other cultures and people groups. Either way, the kingdom is advanced in homes, churches, missions and marketplace ministries.

A "RELAXED" teaching environment? I guess so.

Apparently, this is my wise, professor look.

It’s a very relaxed learning environment (at least my class is) and I have to often call the chaos back to order. I am always surprised at what willing hearts I have here. To be honest, I have had BCOM classes where many of the students had very little respect for age or authority. They were sometimes  rude and insolent. They treated the teachers as their peers. Fortunately, I haven’t encountered attitudes of this nature in at least five or more years. Now, I am not saying here that students are compliant and don’t have opinions, it is just that they are open-hearted and eager for change and maturity.

 

I have a confession to make. I have not been a fan of the BCOM House of Prayer movement (modelled after Kansas City House of Prayer). This will come as no surprise to many on the BCOM staff and though I was not a vocal opponent, I considered the entire business to be too esoteric and undirected to be of any use. To me it was too subjective and etherial. This was simply my opinion. I also admit that in my various attempts to be involved,  I never came away from the experience feeling anything but frustration and confusion. All this being said, it seems that are those who did connect. Some who have prospered because of these LLLL OOOO NNNN GGGG protracted quiet times in the prayer (furnace) room. I have no way to account for the changes in the student body except to think that these prayer meetings began around the same time as did the transformation in the overall classroom environment. I have always seen my personal mandate as that of making more and better disciples. Perhaps in order to effectively do this, you must begin with more and better people. The Prayer Room may have been the means to this transformation. So then, while it isn’t exactly me, I see value in the gifts, graces and calling of others who do see, “Ministering to Jesus” as their life’s purpose. Afterall, I do understand what a “Kingdom of Priests” should be doing. Biblically, Priests were intercessors. They were never meant to serve as one-sided intecessors who only speak to men on behalf of God they also were called to speak to God on behalf of men. The fact is we need both Priests in the church. More than this, we desperately need a new spiritual deportment. I’m make no claim to knowing if this is the result of undergirding prayer. However, whatever it is that causes this new openess to the Spirit and Word of God, I just hope it continues.

Leave a Reply

