On our way to Oslo

My traveling companion, Pete Boghdadi, and I left the Charlotte airport on Wednesday evening and flew overnight to London Gatwick and then caught a Norwegian Air flight that put us into Oslo Gardermoen by noon the following day. We quickly caught the Express train to the National Theatre and hoofed it the next three blocks to our hotel, a Best Western called “Bondeheimen.” Though our room turns out to be expensive real estate by American standards ($185.) for two singles, it is perfectly located and well-managed. I can recommend it to anyone who wants to be in the center of things. As the old adage goes, “You get what you pay for,” and that’s true.

I want the reader to know this. If coming to Oslo and should you choose to stay here, you will be met with the most extensive “included in the price – keep ya all day” breakfast you’ve ever had. I mean this! I am usually put off by what they call breakfast in most hotels and motels. I don’t like to build my own food in a microwave. When I was invited to go ahead into the restaurant and have breakfast, I was less than enthusiastic. I thought I’d just take a machine-made cappuccino but that would have been the worst mistake of the day (perhaps the week). I entered the restaurant to see a huge crowd all grabbing for stuff (lots of stuff!). Fresh breads, muffins, fruit, cereals, cream of wheat, yogurt, eggs (scrambled, soft and hard-boiled), potatoes, beans, bacon, ham, smoked salmon, sausages and more that I can’t remember at the moment. At Norwegian prices this turns out to be good value.

Leave a Reply

