Could this be Lydia?

 

IMG_1496

November 4

A year or so ago I met an opera singer from Iceland named Halla (for the story, scroll back to October 2012), married to Paolo. They own a cute little coffee bar called, Pulcinella only three blocks from my B&B. This is the only place with reliable, open internet (I am working here at this very moment)!!!

IMG_1494

Halla… making hot wine like our apple cider.

After a few visits I became friends with both, Halla and Paolo and learned that Halla was a Lutheran and a believer. At first I was trying to determine if she identified with Protestantism, her Lutheran heritage or Jesus. Whatever, she has been forthcoming in her Christian convictions.

On Saturday she invited me to a little party at her house in the country on the following Monday

Finni (Halla's daughter) and friend cracking nuts

Gudfinna (Halla’s daughter) and friend cracking nuts

evening. She explained that it is a kind of custom to celebrate the end of autumn and the coming of winter by roasting chestnuts (castagni) and drinking a heavily spiced and flavored, hot red wine. (You have no idea how rich – and delicious –  this can be with raisins, almonds and cinnamon).  I was unprepared for the rich combination and after eating several cream filled coronetti during the morning this mixture hit me like a ton of bricks. Within a minute of my first sip and nut, my stomach was acidic but yet people continued to bring me EXOTIC treats of various kinds. Feeling ready to explode and desperate for a Zantac, I had to leave early by catching a ride with Andrea a giornalista (Journalist). It was well worth leaving when I did. Though Andrea did not speak much English, I carried the conversation in Italian with many agreeable positions between the two of us. Let me just say that he caught my drift.

IMG_1501It was a lovely group of people and though I can speak Italian reasonably well, I had great difficulty understanding much of what was being said to me. Halla was quite bold in introducing me to her friends and clearly used my visit to introduce the idea of Christian faith to her friends who did not know how to respond. In one instance, the person resorted to talking about the immaculate conception and ascension of Mary. Obviously, this presented too much of a hill too climb with a language barrier but Halla’s daughter who bares the biblical convictions of her mother and completely on my side, did her best to explain my points in fluent Italian.

The truth is this. Most Italian Catholics are like Muslims, Jehovah’s Witnesses and Mormons. They know nothing beyond what they have been told by the Priest, the Imam, an Elder or Bishop. When confronted with the direct simplicity and sensibility of the gospel, they can see it but have no idea of what to do next. They are the very worst at deciding anything and consider almost everything having to do with religion only a private opinion. To become a bible believing Christian would eliminate their Italian identity, something very few are willing to do. One thing for sure, few Italians are willing to separate from the pack and go it alone. There is almost no concept of individualism. Identity is bound up in one’s cultural heritage. To become a Bible Christian is to become a straniero (foreigner). Evangelical faith is the reilegion of gli immigrati (immigrants).

3 comments on “Could this be Lydia?

  1. Michio says:

    Hi, Tony;
    Your statement, ‘One thing for sure, few Italians are willing to separate from the pack and go it alone. There is almost no concept of individualism. Identity is bound up in one’s cultural heritage’, applies to many other people from old countries including Japan. I have been praying for one of my brothers and his wife for ages but nothing has happened yet. ‘Staying within their traditions’ appears to be the main issue. Of course, this is not something new. I am sure all missionaries must have faced it.

    Just a few weeks ago I wrote to one of my cousins about the urgency of putting one’s faith in Jesus. I am not sure if I offended her but she has not wrote to me since. They are usually polite and do not say anything contrary to what I say but I can sense they are not happy with what I say to them.

    Do you know how to go about “overcoming the tradition”?

    Blessings,

    Michio

    • tonyhedrick says:

      Yes, I suppose this is common all over the globe. The power of cultural identity. It is well known that this is the primary reason Muslims find it hard to convert even though they might be convinced of the gospel. The fear of losing community is a tremendous hurdle to cross and frankly, we do little to help people from these cultures integrate, give them family and make them feel at home. By comparison to other world religions, Christianity is highly individualistic and does not build relationships the way many other religious cultures do. AS for overcoming the traditions, I suppose the truth is this, people must see the truth as simply more important and worth paying the price. This was what took place in the first century among the Jews.

  2. Peter says:

    Orthodox faith is also like the catholic faith. Main difference is that orthodox tradition does not have purgatory. Many are moralistic and good people, but truthfully speaking, the religion practices opposite of what the bible teaches. I wish one day, I could witness too many orthodox christians. Simply over a cup of coffee, but bold enough to speak in confidence about truth according to the bible

Leave a Reply

