Trip 38 / Entry 18 / Oslo, Norway

Friday and Saturday, May 16-18, 2014

Friday Evening International Supper

IMG_2540

 

IMG_2487My friend Roar of Oslo came to fetch me at Smyrna Bible Institute on Friday afternoon then took with him to Oslo. On the way there he informed me that there was going to be an international dinner at 7PM and I would be speaking. If you want spontaneity, Norway is the place. I am often surprised by meetings I am slightly unprepared for. He suggested twenty minutes with translation and my mind began to frantically race trying to sort what I might be able to effectively do in so short a time. I settled on giving my abbreviated testimony.

We arrived at his house a little after five. I laid down for a few minutes and then got dressed. Off we went to enjoy a meal provided by people of thirteen nationalities. I came to discover that the MC was a Mexican “Christian” but I very quickly noticed that he was abrupt and cold to me. He failed to make eye contact at all and when it was finally time for me to speak, I saw him pacing, looking at his watch and scowling. Roar translated me and at times got so tickled that he couldn’t go on. This has happened before  on other occasions so we should probably never be put together in this capacity. He laughs at my descriptions until he cries.

I ended soon enough with what I thought was an impacting message that all, regardless of religious conviction, could grasp and enjoy without offence.  After all, it was just my story.

I thought it went well and Roar was delighted.  The next morning while waiting outside to go to the city, the Mexican fellow who occupies a small apartment on the bottom floor, came out to do the same. I wanted to build a bridge so I asked where he was from. From the minute I asked the question, I knew I had made a mistake. He complained about my message and baited me for a fight. His wife eventually came out the door apologizing for him while they went off down the street with her returning to apologize as he yelled, “We don’t like American’s or whatever you are. Go back to where you come from!”

Well, he made Muslims and Jehovah’s Witnesses seem a lot more civil. I have never been this badly treated anywhere or at anytime. It almost came to fisticuffs.  I was so shocked I said, “I don’t think you know the Lord Jesus,” and I don’t believe he possibly could unless he is dominated by the works of the flesh (carnality). More honestly, I think he is a dangerous man. I expect to be accosted by a Muslim or drunk here and there by not by one professing to being a follower of Jesus. Either this man is demonic or insane. Personally, I think he was mad with jealousy that I was invited to speak without his knowledge or approval. It’s a territorial thing.

 

One comment on “Trip 38 / Entry 18 / Oslo, Norway

  1. georgefos says:

    Tony, Fret not thyself neither sweat thou. You were paying for the sins of other Americans. Just like Jesus!!!!!!! God bless you, bro. Still praying.

    Date: Thu, 29 May 2014 09:01:26 +0000 To: grobertfoster@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

