Trip 38 / Entry 19 / Volda, Norway

Sunday, May 18, 2014

 An amazing and hopeful story… 

Volda Baptism Crop

Volda Baptism 2

 

 

 

 

I flew Norwegian from Oslo-Gardemoen to Alesund and then bused to Volda about three hours away. This meant that my day would be a long one. On the way I completely re-arranged a power point which took all of that time. I arrived and was met by my friend Gunnar. After talking through the content of the evening, I saw that the power point would not likely connect so I decided to preach and this proved to be the right decision. On the same evening there would be a baptism.

This is an all too rare event but in this part of Norway where most give no thought at all to spiritual matters or eternal things here comes Charlene. Out of the blue, she calls Gunnar and says, “I was reading the Bible I see that I need to be baptized. Will you baptize me.” Gunnar asked her how this came about since he did not know her. She told her story. A CLASSIC and THE WAY IT OUGHT TO BE… “I am from South Africa. I have no particular religious background but became sick of my life, ordered a Bible from the internet, heard somewhere that I should read John, read it and the other gospels and came to believe that Jesus died for me. I gave my life to him and then decided I needed to find someone to baptize me.” I had the privilege of doing this.

On Monday morning I made my way around to some of my significant contacts from last October. I was able to see them all and received a warm welcome.

2 comments on “Trip 38 / Entry 19 / Volda, Norway

  1. Andreas Lien Simonsen says:

    That’s just amazing! Wow, fantastic 😀

  2. Stephanie says:

    Oh my gosh, I totally teared up over that!! Wow!

Leave a Reply

