Trip 39 / Entry 23 / Backtracking

Parma: September 28, 2014

I arrived at Malpensa / Milano late from Bucharest and there to meet me was Alessia Zambon the wife of Francesco Abortivi who circled the terminal while she waited. They rushed me back to Parma (2 hours) and my bed so that I would be fresh for Sunday morning. I arrived at around midnight.

IMG_3708 crop

 

Johnny: Converted three years ago

Johnny: Converted three years ago

I had intended to preach an evangelistic message as I often do when I visit Parma. We always see response. At the last minute I changed my mind and I preached on revelation from Isaiah 6:1-7. What should happen when we encounter the glory of God? I related this to Paul’s conversion and testimony to King Agrippa in Acts 26. Since this was a message for believers, I didn’t expect what happened. At the end of the service a good number of people came forward to receive Christ. I am always thrilled by response since I almost never see it in Charlotte where the IMG_3707 cropgospel is very available and taken for granted. These people are generally very needy and if there is a problem with altar calls it would be that many will come forward because they are more desperate for a solution to temporal problems rather than a desire to receive Jesus as Lord and Savior. We take all comers and have seen many discipled and attach themselves to the church so we continue to hold out free salvation to all who will call upon the name of the Lord.

Regrettably, some misunderstand who I am and want a photo with “the man of God” as it is typical for South Americans and African to hold teachers and preachers in high esteem. I accommodate them and happily pose as I like the moment as much as they do.

Leave a Reply

