Trip 39 / Entry 27 / Oslo

Saturday, October 4, 2014

TESTING THE WATERS ON JANTE’S LAW and POLITICAL CORRECTNESS…

IMG_3799 cropI FELT LIKE I WAS WALKING DOWN THE STREET STARK NAKED.

It went pretty much as I thought. I took this to the street and got the reaction I expected. There was a “knowingness” as many glanced at the shirt, some smiled, but true to form, their eyes darted away from my eyes. They did not want to engage me. A group of six young guys stopped me and asked where I got it. An older man outside of The Brighton Bar, smiled and gave me a thumbs up and finally, when a man did demonstrate some courage, I asked him what he thought. All he said was, “Funny, I think it is funny.” This is the point, no one will have an opinion. You must have mass approval to support anything. There is very little rank individualism here. I think I could walk down the street with “NORWEGIANS HAVE EVERYTHING BUT GOD” and no one would say a word.

To see the concept behind this social conditioning go tohttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Law_of_Jante

Leave a Reply

